<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>

Celebrating our Alumni at the AEHL Awards

On 4 November, the EHL Alumni Network (AEHL) gathered at Chaplin’s World in Vevey for the 7th Annual AEHL Award Ceremony to celebrate the achievements of our alumni across the world.

Sixty Alumni came together to proudly honor their most distinguished members, all who have made an impact on their industries, communities and colleagues. This year’s event sponsor was the IHG group, a founding member of the EHL Alliance.
The yearly ceremony rewards Alumni from around the world who contribute to the EHL community and hospitality industry at large. This year’s event saw the first bestowal of the Woman in Leadership Award, in line with EHL’s commitment to supporting leadership, culture, and policies that foster diverse, balanced, and people-focused environments.
Speaking at the event, Valérie de Corte, Global Alliance & Partnership Director, said: “As an active member of the EHL Women in Leadership initiative, I am particularly proud to introduce this new award which we hope will inspire future generations of students and alumni”.

During the ceremony, the following Alumni received awards for their contribution to the EHL Alumni network and the hospitality industry:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter C. Borer - AEHL ‘75 and Hans Wiedemann AEHL’78

  • Peter C. Borer

    Peter C. Borer, AEHL 1975, is the Chief Operating Officer of The Peninsula Hotels and an Executive Director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (HSH). He is also a member of EHL’s International Advisory Board and the Advisory Board of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management of The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

    Read more

  • Hans Wiedemann

    AEHL’78 Hans Wiedemann is Delegate of the Board of the “Grande Dame” of St. Moritz – The Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, serves as Vice President of the Board of Hotel Les Trois Rois in Basel and as an Advisor to the board of St. Moritz Ice Cricket. From 1998 to 2018, Wiedemann served as International Advisory Board member of EHL. A faithful EHL ambassador, he is a motivator and supporter of many young graduates, who today hold leading positions in the international hotel industry.

    Read more


Alumnus/a of the Year Award: Eric Fassbind AEHL ‘91

AEHL’91 graduate Eric Fassbind took over ownership and management of the family’s three hotels in Lausanne. He created the brand Hotels By Fassbind and went on to buy four additional hotels in Zurich and Lausanne. Today By Fassbind is Switzerland’s largest independent hotel chain, completely owned by Eric Fassbind. His plan is to own and manage 1000 modern and innovative rooms before 2025.

Read more

Woman in Leadership Award: Michelle Walder AEHL ‘08

Michelle Walder started her career in the hospitality industry at the age of 13. During her time at EHL, she completed two internships for Hotelier Andre Balazs in New York City which led to a permanent job after graduating in 2008. In 2011, Michelle joined her current company, Sydell Group as part of the pre-opening team of Nomad, New York. Today she oversees all aspects of the Nomad, New York’s operations and is excited that Sydell Group has recently started a partnership with EHL for Interns and Management Trainees at all properties.

Read more

Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Olivier Bracard & Carl Julien AEHL’07

Olivier Bracard, Hosco’s CEO and Co-founder, and Carl Julien, Hosco’s COO and Co-founder, met during their studies at EHL where they graduated from in 2007. In 2011, they launched Hosco with one clear vision: to empower the hospitality industry by uniting all of its professionals, employers, and educational centers in one global network.

Read more

We wish to congratulate all our award winners and nominated Alumni. We warmly thank them for their commitment, service and contribution to the EHL Alumni Network and the entire EHL community.


Download news and pictures