The 4th annual AEHL Awards ceremony was held on November 10th, 2016 at EHL's gastronomic restaurant, Le Berceau des Sens. Created in 2013, this event aims to celebrate the most deserving EHL graduates based on their professional career and success.

After a first selection by the EHL Alumni community (AEHL), three candidates were nominated in each category - Lifetime Achievement Award, Alumnus of the Year, and Entrepreneur of the Year. The heads of AEHL's international chapters (Stamms) as well as members of the AEHL Swiss Alumni Council designated the winners.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was handed to Mr. Max Felix Bieger (EHL 1959), Advisor to Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (HSH), former Chairman of the Hong Kong Hotels Association and founding member of the Hong Kong AEHL Stamm. A prominent figure in the hotel industry, Mr Bieger is a veteran with almost 70 years of hotel experience. This award recognizes the alumnus who thrived the most throughout his/her career, representing the AEHL network throughout the world.

The Alumnus of the Year Award was presented to Mr. Rolf Hiltl (EHL 1989). Following his father's footsteps, Mr. Hiltl took over the management and ownership of Hiltl AG, the oldest vegetarian restaurant in the world. Today, he is the co-owner of tibits, with 7 restaurants in Switzerland and London. This award recognizes the alumnus who flourished the most on a professional level in the past year.

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award was attributed to Mr. Simon Ferniot (EHL 1988), represented by Jacques Merlotti (EHL 2000) at the ceremony. As co-founder of Boco, the first "boco" restaurant in Paris (inaugurated in 2011), Mr. Ferniot created a unique concept: serving affordable gastronomy in a traditional pub atmosphere. This award recognizes an alumnus whose entrepreneurial journey and company's performance are exemplary.

The award ceremony was sponsored by Couleur du Vin and Sigrist.

Back to Top